Jonny Halberg
Just North of the Church
Stories 1994–2016

In Just North of the Church – Stories 1994–2016 we meet people who live rough lives on the borderline, without being aware of it, love relationships that cannot be brought back to life, children who witness how life unfolds in poverty, coastal life in mysterious nakedness, as well as people who disappear and will perhaps never appear on the scene again.

Jonny Halberg

Jonny Halberg
Ingeborg Øien Thorsland

Jonny Halberg made his debut with the collection of short stories Transition to the Tertiary in 1989, since when he has published a number of collections of short stories, novels and film manuscripts. Halberg has been awarded several literary prizes, including the Critics’ Prize and the Hunger Prize as well as the P2 Listeners’ novel prize.

Other titles

1983 (2012)
The Twin (2006)
Go to the Mountain (2004)
The Flood (2000)
Defiance (1996)

Foreign rights

[email protected]


halberg has won several prizes for his writing. among them:

The Hunger Prize (1998)
The P2 Listeners’ novel prize (2000)
The Critic's Prize (2000)

Edited October 23, 2017 by Kolon forlag