Geir Tangen

A new case for journalist Viljar Ravn Gudmundsson and police investigator Lotte Skeisvoll.

Journalist Viljar Ravn Gudmundsson and police investigator Lotte Skeisvoll are only just starting to recover from the case of the serial killer who called himself the Maestro when another case leaves them both shaken. A young girl has been found dead after a party in one of Haugesund’s nicest residential areas.

Further investigation reveals a much more intense youth scene than anyone could have imagined—a deadly cocktail of far-right extremism, experimental sex and drugs. And in the middle of all this, Viljar’s 17-year-old son. For an insecure young person, the distance between heaven and hell is dangerously short, and every step is a potential misstep.

A well-written and well-constructed story that has nothing of the slowness of some Nordic crime novels, but rather is swift. A surprising crime novel that thrills unto the very last page, and reminds us that some mistakes can change an entire life, and sometimes more than one.


A thrilling and topical crime novel.


Norwegian writer Geir Tangen has yet again written an excellent crime novel. [...] Apart from being incredibly thought-provoking this is also an extremely suspenseful book.


I'm impressed by Geir Tangen and the way he constructs his text and plot.


With Heartbreaker [Tangen] strengthens his reputation as a talented thriller writer, this book is a truly exciting Scandi thriller. [...] Tangen is one of the Scandinavian writers you ought to keep an eye on.


Geir Tangen

Geir Tangen
Haakon Nordvik

Geir Tangen (b. 1970) is from Øystese in Hardanger but has lived in Haugesund since 1996.

He is trained as a general education teacher and has also worked as a freelance journalist for radio, TV, and newspapers since 1990, and writes short stories in addition to his crime novels.

He self-published his first crime novel, Maestro, in January 2016 and it was an immediate success. The book was nominated for the Maurits Hansen “New Blood” Prize in 2017 and for two crime prizes in the Netherlands the following year. Heartbreaker was published in 2017, and the final book in the series, Dead Man’s Tango, was published in 2018. The trilogy about Viljar Ravn Gudmundsson and Lotte Skeisvoll has been translated into several languages.

In the summer of 2019, he started work on a brand new crime series. The first book, Hour of the Wolf, was published in 2021.

Foreign rights

Gyldendal Agency
P.O. Box 6860 St. Olavs plass
NO-0130 Oslo
[email protected]

Edited May 25, 2021 by Gyldendal Agency