Geir Tangen
Dead Man's Tango

Journalist Viljar Ravn Gudmundsson and police investigator Lotte Skeisvoll find themselves in their worst nightmare. The sleepy city of Haugesund in Western Norway is torn out of its late-summer torpor by a series of horrific deaths. Someone wanted to see these people—all of whom knew each other in their youth—suffer. Lotte also feels that the killer is closing in on her. Viljar and Lotte are forced to make an impossible choice: admit that they were responsible for the murder of neo-Nazi Geirmund Bakken in the spring or let a returned rebel fighter be punished for what they did.

This is an excellent series


It's annoyingly good. [...] Impressive. [...] Tangen's best book.


Geir Tangen has written his books with much affection for crime novels, and he's also a very good stylist who possesses a great deal of humor [...] Geir Tangen knows his genre and offers suspense with something extra.


Tangen lets us look deeply into the people who are involved in the events. And he also describes their mistakes, and their shortcomings. So the characters are deeply human; The gripping thriller also deals with questions of guilt, atonement and vigilante justice.


Geir Tangen

Geir Tangen
Haakon Nordvik

Geir Tangen (b. 1970) is from Øystese in Hardanger but has lived in Haugesund since 1996.

He is trained as a general education teacher and has also worked as a freelance journalist for radio, TV, and newspapers since 1990, and writes short stories in addition to his crime novels.

He self-published his first crime novel, Maestro, in January 2016 and it was an immediate success. The book was nominated for the Maurits Hansen “New Blood” Prize in 2017 and for two crime prizes in the Netherlands the following year. Heartbreaker was published in 2017, and the final book in the series, Dead Man’s Tango, was published in 2018. The trilogy about Viljar Ravn Gudmundsson and Lotte Skeisvoll has been translated into several languages.

In the summer of 2019, he started work on a brand new crime series. The first book, Hour of the Wolf, was published in 2021.

Foreign rights

Gyldendal Agency
P.O. Box 6860 St. Olavs plass
NO-0130 Oslo
[email protected]

Edited May 25, 2021 by Gyldendal Agency