Gaute Heivoll

Those Free of Guilt

The lie that grows and evolves until it starts looking like the truth
Sigrid is nineteen when she first meets Embret, who arrives in her
small town to be the new schoolteacher. She just wants to get away,
from her mother and little sister Edit. He just wants to be noticed,
for everyone around him to see who he really is. Together, they start
carving out the future they´ve been longing for.
But life wants it differently. When disaster strikes, Embret and the
two sisters make a life changing choice. They tell a lie that grows
and evolves until it starts looking like the truth. A lie constantly
threatening to tear their existence apart.
Those Free of Guilt is a story of hope and self-deception, of salvation
and gradual downfall. It is a novel of longing to be something
more than yourself, and of the impossibility of envisioning the
consequences of your choices.

Gaute Heivoll

Heivoll h2010 paal audestadcmyk

After his debut in 2002, Gaute Heivoll (born 1978) has written poetry,
short stories, children’s books and novels. I 2010, he had his breakthrough
with the novel Før jeg brenner ned (Before I Burn), which
also won him the Brage Prize. The book has been sold to more than
20 countries, and has been made into a film.

Other titles

23 Titels from 2000-2016

Foreign rights

Please contact:
Oslo Literary Agency
Annette Orre
[email protected]


Tiden Publishing Prize 2003
Sørlandets Literature Prize 2008, for Doktor Gordeau og andre noveller
Sørlandets Literature Prize 2009, for Himmelarkivet
Songdalen Municipality Culture Prize 2009
Brage Prize 2010, for Før jeg brenner ned
Sørlandets Literature Prize 2011, for Før jeg brenner ned
Hunger Prize 2011
Blogistanian Globalia Prize 2013 (Finland)
and other nominations

Edited December 06, 2017 by Tiden Norsk Forlag