Janne Stigen Drangsholt
The Marvelous Misadventures of Ingrid Winter

The Ingrid Winter-series consists of four hilarious books, and has sold more than 50 000 copies in Norway.
Ingrid Winter is a painfully middle-class woman struggling with a wonderful family and an academic career that is increasingly turning away from the literature that she loves and towards the low corporate life that threatens to suck all life out of her. But she carries on, believing in literature, popular culture, and, not least, in her husband and three children. Bjørnar knows Ingrid inside and out. He relieves her of some of her armour and burdens, and shows her how a better life can be built, even in the midst of passive-aggressive colleagues and a world that seems to have narcissism as its default setting.
Drangsholt creates a universe that feels relatable.The humour stems from the interpersonal relationships, but also in the intertextual references to both high-brow literary works and popular culture that permeate Ingrid Winter’s mental universe, in order to find meaning and coherence in the world, but also to explain how we frequently act in ways that are less conscious and intentional. The result is hilarious and moving.

Janne Stigen Drangsholt

Janne Stigen Drangsholt
Tommy Ellingsen

Janne Stigen Drangsholt is a Norwegian writer and academic scholar. Her debut, The Bumblebee Catcher, was published in 2011, but she is best known for her books about the neurotic academic Ingrid Winter. She manages to combine sparkling humor with deep sensitivity.

Rights sold to

World English, Amazon Crossing
South-Korea, SOSO Books
Czech Republic, Motto

Other titles

The Importance of Being Ingrid Winter Ingrid Winter's Great Expectations
The Sun Also Rises for Ingrid Winter

Foreign rights

Northern Stories
Agent: Astrid Dalaker
[email protected]
Phone: +47 99 69 19 50

Edited March 11, 2024 by Northern Stories