Anne Holt

Sudden Death

Mildly impressed, the cardiologist Sara Zuckerman endures her first live soccer game. It’s the game of games – the Champions League final, in which Bayern München and Borussia Dortmund is vying for the title at Wembley Stadium. But when the referee calls a penalty, Sara is the only one who notices a player lying lifeless on the field. Her quick intervention is viewed by 600 million fans around the world, and the player survives.

Sara’s newfound fame attracts the attention of Najib Aysha, a finance mogul who owns the Premiere League team Notting Hill. Having pulled the team out of the lower divisions and into the sport’s finest league, Aysha is now admired by everyone, feared by some, and loved by few people other than himself. Sara and Aysha’s meeting at Wembley will turn out to be pivotal. For both of them.

Sudden Death is a new heart-stopping thriller about cardiologist Sara Zuckerman. In the world of professional soccer, where money is power and players are mere chess pieces for the owners, Sara finds herself dragged into a struggle against both visible and invisible adversaries – a game where it becomes more and more difficult to spot the players.

Sudden Death is the second book about Sara Zuckerman. The first book, Flimmer, was published in 2010.

Holt scores a goal with a crime novel about football ... The story takes place in well-known environments, such as Oslo and London. And the Premier League, the high games, the big scams, the doping is all something we recognize by now ... It's a goal.

Hamar Arbeiderblad, Norway

The combination of Even Holt's knowledges as a cardiac surgeon and Anne Holt's pen, makes the reading experience different from what you're used to with crime literature.

Trønder-Avisa, Norway

Anne Holt

Anne holt

Anne Holt (b. 1958) is one of Scandinavia’s most successful crime writers with 7 million copies sold around the world. Holt is a former Minister of Justice, Police Attorney, lawyer running her own firm, journalist, and TV news editor and anchor. Her novels are intelligent, accessible and suspenseful, with engaging and intriguing protagonists. Tight-knit crime plots are paired with a focus on relational drama. Anne Holt is the author of two extremely successful crime series: the Inger Johanne Vik series (five installments) and the Hanne Wilhelmsen series (nine installments to date).

Rights sold to

Bulgaria, Emas
Denmark, Gyldendal
Finland, Gummerus
Germany, Piper
Italy, Einaudi
Norway, Vigmostad & Bjørke
Sweden, Piratförlaget

Other titles

In Dust and Ashes
Beyond The Truth
No Echo
Dead Joker
The Lion’s Mouth
Death of the Demon
Blessed Are Those Who Thirst
Blind Goddess
What Dark Clouds Hide
Fear Not
Madam President
What Never Happens
What Is Mine
May-Britt, March-Britt and the Peachy Pug
May-Britt & March-Britt

Foreign rights

Salomonsson Agency
Götgatan 27, 116 21 Stockholm, Sweden
[email protected]
+46 8 22 32 11


The Great Calibre Award of Honor, Poland, 2012
The Cappelen Prize, Norway, 2001
The Norwegian Booksellers’ Prize, Norway, 1995
The Riverton Prize (Best Norwegian Crime Novel of the Year), Norway, 1994

Edited October 06, 2017 by Salomonsson Agency