Anne Holt
Blessed are Those who Thirst

In this thrilling story of rape and revenge, Hanne Wilhelmsen races against the clock to prevent the privatization of justice. How does our society treat individuals such as rape victims and refugees? The novel delves into the nature of powerlessness – the powerlessness of immigrants confronting an immigration officer, the powerlessness of a rape victim confronting her aggressor.

Blessed are Those who Thirst is the second installment in the Hanne Wilhelmsen series.

In 1997, Blessed are Those who Thirst became a motion picture directed by Carl Jørgen Kiønig.

Anne Holt goes from strength to strength.

Gefle Dagblad, Sweden

A wonderful combination of old-school police procedure and amateur detective work ... Holt is a master of balancing criminal procedure with suspense ... This is a series that demands to be read, and the more quickly the better.

The Book Reporter, US

A perfect entry point into Scandinavian crime ... A sure pleasure for police-procedural fans who read everything from Slaughter to Nesbo.

Booklist, US

Anne Holt

Anne Holt

Anne Holt (b. 1958) is one of Scandinavia’s most successful crime writers with 7 million copies sold around the world. Holt is a former Minister of Justice, Police Attorney, lawyer running her own firm, journalist, and TV news editor and anchor. Her novels are intelligent, accessible and suspenseful, with engaging and intriguing protagonists. Tight-knit crime plots are paired with a focus on relational drama. Anne Holt is the author of two extremely successful crime series: the Inger Johanne Vik series (five installments) and the Hanne Wilhelmsen series (nine installments to date).

Rights sold to

Brazil, Fundamento
Czech Republic, Jota
Denmark, Gyldendal
Finland, Gummerus
Germany, Piper
Greece, Polis
Italy, Einaudi
Norway, Vigmostad & Bjørke
Poland, Proszynski
Romania, Trei
Spain, Mondadori (World Spanish)
Sweden, Norstedts
UK, Corvus
US, Scribner

Film rights

Other titles

In Dust and Ashes
Beyond The Truth
No Echo
Dead Joker
The Lion’s Mouth
Death of the Demon
Blind Goddess
Sudden Death
What Dark Clouds Hide
Fear Not
Madam President
What Never Happens
What Is Mine
May-Britt, March-Britt and the Peachy Pug
May-Britt & March-Britt

Foreign rights

Salomonsson Agency
Götgatan 27, 116 21 Stockholm, Sweden
[email protected]
+46 8 22 32 11


The Great Calibre Award of Honor, Poland, 2012
The Cappelen Prize, Norway, 2001
The Norwegian Booksellers’ Prize, Norway, 1995
The Riverton Prize (Best Norwegian Crime Novel of the Year), Norway, 1994

Edited October 06, 2017 by Salomonsson Agency