Anne Holt

1222 is a thrilling story of how a group of disparate people find themselves stuck in a hotel during an apocalyptic snow storm. Following a dramatic train derailment at Finse, the conflict between the survivors escalates while a furious hurricane threatens the unprotected village. Nobody is there to help, and there is no way out of the inferno for the survivors hiding out. On the first night at the hotel, a man is found shot and murdered. The victim is Cato Hammer, a priest known nation-wide for his ability – and desire – to get in the papers. Hanne Wilhelmsen, retired Inspector at the Oslo Police, is drawn into a race against time, a murderer, and the worst storm in the Norwegian alps on record. She loses the first round. Soon, another one of God’s servants is murdered, when an icicle cuts through his body…

1222 is a playful wink to the classic whodunit, while Anne Holt maintains distinct references to our own time and the destructive prejudices of modern man. It is the eighth installment in the Hanne Wilhelmsen series.

What makes the book so enjoyable to read is primarily Wilhelmsen’s thoughts … and the gratifyingly dramatic situation: a whodunit buried in snow.

Blekinge Läns Tidning, Sweden

This book was a pleasure from start to finish. Anne Holt’s 14th book is a dazzling and classic crime story. /…/ 1222 is a brilliant thriller that will hopefully find many readers. Perhaps the best this year?

Bokavisen, Norway

For 15 years Anne Holt has put a silver lining on the reading experiences of all crime fans. /…/ It has become more intimate and the understanding of Hanne Wilhelmsen deepens. /…/ It is suspenseful.

Nerikes Allehanda, Sweden

Anne Holt

Anne Holt

Anne Holt (b. 1958) is one of Scandinavia’s most successful crime writers with 7 million copies sold around the world. Holt is a former Minister of Justice, Police Attorney, lawyer running her own firm, journalist, and TV news editor and anchor. Her novels are intelligent, accessible and suspenseful, with engaging and intriguing protagonists. Tight-knit crime plots are paired with a focus on relational drama. Anne Holt is the author of two extremely successful crime series: the Inger Johanne Vik series (five installments) and the Hanne Wilhelmsen series (nine installments to date).

Rights sold to

Brazil, Fundamento
Denmark, Gyldendal
Finland, Gummerus
Germany, Piper
Hungary, Ulpius Haz
Italy, Einaudi
Japan, Tokyo Sogensha
Korea, Minumsa
Norway, Vigmostad & Bjørke
Slovakia, Ikar
Spain, Mondadori (World Spanish)
Sweden, Piratförlaget
Taiwan, Spring International (Complex Chinese)
UK, Corvus
US, Scribner

Film rights

Other titles

In Dust and Ashes
Beyond The Truth
No Echo
Dead Joker
The Lion’s Mouth
Death of the Demon
Blessed Are Those Who Thirst
Blind Goddess
Sudden Death
What Dark Clouds Hide
Fear Not
Madam President
What Never Happens
What Is Mine
May-Britt, March-Britt and the Peachy Pug
May-Britt & March-Britt

Foreign rights

Salomonsson Agency
Götgatan 27, 116 21 Stockholm, Sweden
[email protected]
+46 8 22 32 11


The Great Calibre Award of Honor, Poland, 2012
The Cappelen Prize, Norway, 2001
The Norwegian Booksellers’ Prize, Norway, 1995
The Riverton Prize (Best Norwegian Crime Novel of the Year), Norway, 1994

Edited October 06, 2017 by Salomonsson Agency