Morten A. Strøksnes
Lumholtz’ Ghosts
Around the world in the footsteps of a forgotten white explorer, in search of all that was once lost, and what is left behind

This unique and ambitious work follows the footsteps of Norwegian explorer Carl Lumholtz (1851-1922) who was world-famous in his time for his expeditions to Australia, Mexico, and Borneo. Strøksnes follows the explorer around the world, from Lumholtz’ home in Lillehammer to distant rainforests, deserts, and mountains. These journeys are accompanied by extensive, pioneering research in the archives around the world. Strøksnes not only reveals Lumholtz’ life and society in all its splendor, savagery, and violence; he also uses Lumholtz’ era as a dark reflection of our own time – and all of its crises.

About "Shark Drunk" (2015):

'An intellectual page-turner (...) Strøksnes’s book shows how historical and scientific writing can be woven into a narrative while leaving the particular pleasures of both modes intact.'

The New Yorker

About "Shark Drunk" (2015):

'A masterpiece, nothing less.'

Bergens Tidende, 6 out of 6 stars

Morten A. Strøksnes

Morten A. Strøksnes
Baard Henriksen

Morten A. Strøksnes (b. 1965) is a Norwegian intellectual, historian, journalist, photographer and writer. Strøksnes has published nine critically acclaimed books. His previous book Shark Drunk has received six awards, including the Norwegian Språkråd-Prize and the Norwegian Brage Prize and has been sold to 25 territories.

Rights sold to

Brazilian Portuguese: Editora Âyine
Italian: Iperborea

Other titles

Shark Drunk (Havboka), 2015
Tequiladagbøkene, 2013
Et mord i Kongo, 2010
Automobil – En reise gjennom Europas bakgård, 2006
Snøen som falt i fjor, 2004

Foreign rights

Copenhagen Literary Agency
Monica Gram
Antonigade 3, 2. Sal
DK – 1106 Copenhagen K
[email protected]


The Edward Stanford Travel Writing Award 2018
Popular Science Book of the Year in Germany: The Most Exciting Book of 2017 as chosen by leading journalists and researchers
Norwegian Reine Ord Prize at Lofoten Int. Literature Festival 2016
Northern Norwegian Petter Dass Medal 2016
Norwegian Book Blogger Prize 2015
Norwegian Brage Prize 2015
Norwegian Critics’ Prize for Literature 2015
Norwegian Language Council’s Prize 2011

Edited April 17, 2023 by Copenhagen Literary Agency