Jon Fosse

Plays 3

Jon Fosse has been called ‘the Beckett of the 21st century’ (Le Monde). Just as Beckett’s plays — and those of all great playwrights — grew out of their time, and influenced the current styles of drama, and were part of what brought their times forward, so do Fosse’s plays now.

The Guitar Man (written in 1994)
The Dead Dogs (written in the end of the 90’s, world premiere in 2004)
Sa ka la
Beautiful (written in 1999)
Death Variations (written in 2000)
The Girl on the Sofa (published by Oberon Books in 2002)
Lilla (written in 2002)
Suzannah (written in 2004)

Jon Fosse

4 20181110150520164799
Tove Breistein

Jon Fosse is widely considered one of the world’s most important living writers, with an ability to touch readers across time and place. Born in 1959 in Strandebarm, a small village in the western part of Norway, he lives today in the Grotten, an honorary residence in Oslo bestowed for life by the King of Norway, as well as in Hainburg, Austria, and Frekhaug, Norway. Fosse is an unusually prolific writer. He debuted in 1983, and has since published novels, volumes of poetry, essay collections, and children’s books. His work has now been translated into more than 40 languages and his plays performed more than a thousand times around the world. In whatever genre he is writing in, Fosse’s language is poetic and existential, rhythmic and lyrical.

Other titles

Please visit the Winje Agency webpage for more titles.

Foreign rights

Winje Agency


Among others:
2007 Deutsche Jugendbuch Preis.
2010 International Ibsen Prize
2014 European Prize for Literature
2015 Nordic Council's Literature Award, for Trilogy
2016 Willy Brandt Prize
2017 European Poetry Prize of the City of Münster, Germany

Edited May 03, 2019 by Winje Agency