Anne Holt
What Dark Clouds Hide

On a rainy Friday afternoon, on July 22nd 2011 eight-year-old only child Sander Mohr dies in his own home. The parents are inconsolable. Forensic psychologist Inger Johanne Vik believes, as does everyone else, that the death was a tragic domestic accident. Only rookie Henrik Holme, who graduated from the police academy only six weeks prior, is suspicious: It’s possible that something is wrong in the wealthy and apparently well-functioning home in Oslo’s fanciest neighborhood. Without experience, but with great will-power and distinct talent, Henrik Holme manages to recruit Inger Johanne Vik to an investigation that will prove to be fatal. In the shadow of the national catastrophe that hits Norway the same day as Sander’s death, the odd couple struggle to unravel one family’s darkest secrets. The hunt for the truth about the eight-year-old’s death becomes a brutal confrontation with prejudice and evasions, shame and lies, system failures and human humiliation.

What Dark Clouds Hide is the fifth – and final – freestanding installment in the Inger Johanne Vik series.

What Dark Clouds Hide is a very good novel, it raises important questions about prejudices, suspicions and the compulsion to at all times maintain a façade outwards. The portrait of the grieving and troubled mother Ellen is almost physically painful to read.

Gefle Dagblad, Sweden

A suspenseful plot with credible characters and compassion.

Expressen, Sweden

Anne Holt

Anne Holt

Anne Holt (b. 1958) is one of Scandinavia’s most successful crime writers with 7 million copies sold around the world. Holt is a former Minister of Justice, Police Attorney, lawyer running her own firm, journalist, and TV news editor and anchor. Her novels are intelligent, accessible and suspenseful, with engaging and intriguing protagonists. Tight-knit crime plots are paired with a focus on relational drama. Anne Holt is the author of two extremely successful crime series: the Inger Johanne Vik series (five installments) and the Hanne Wilhelmsen series (nine installments to date).

Rights sold to

Bulgaria, Emas
Denmark, Gyldendal
Finland, Gummerus
Germany, Piper
Italy, Einaudi
Norway, Vigmostad & Bjørke
Poland, Prószynski
Romania, Trei
Spain, Roca
Sweden, Piratförlaget
UK, Corvus

Film rights
Sweden, Miso

Other titles

In Dust and Ashes
Beyond The Truth
No Echo
Dead Joker
The Lion’s Mouth
Death of the Demon
Blessed Are Those Who Thirst
Blind Goddess
Sudden Death
Fear Not
Madam President
What Never Happens
What Is Mine
May-Britt, March-Britt and the Peachy Pug
May-Britt & March-Britt

Foreign rights

Salomonsson Agency
Götgatan 27, 116 21 Stockholm, Sweden
[email protected]
+46 8 22 32 11


The Great Calibre Award of Honor, Poland, 2012
The Cappelen Prize, Norway, 2001
The Norwegian Booksellers’ Prize, Norway, 1995
The Riverton Prize (Best Norwegian Crime Novel of the Year), Norway, 1994

Edited October 06, 2017 by Salomonsson Agency