Tomas Espedal
Against Art

In contemporary Norwegian fiction Tomas Espedal´s work stands out as uniquely bound up with the author´s personal experiences. His last book, the prize nominee Walk, introduced us to the wanderer Tomas. Against Art is a novel that focuses on the author; on how a boy approaches art and eventually becomes a writer. It is about the profession of writing, about routines, responsibility and obstacles. But it is also a story about being a father, a son and a grandson; it is about a family and a family´s stories and about how preceding generations mark their successors. And it is a story about choices and changes, about motion and rest, about moving to a new place and about living.

Tomas Espedal

Tomas Espedal
Jakob Dall

Tomas Espedal (born 1961) made his debut in 1988. A graduate of the University of Bergen, he has published both novels and short prose collections. In 1991 he won an award from the joint Radio P2/Book Club Novelists´ competition for She and I. Founder of the Bergen International Poetry Festival, Espedal’s later works explore the relationship between the novel and other genres such as essays, letters, diaries, autobiographies and travelogue. Espedal’s Tramp (Or the art of living a wild and poetic life) (2006), Against Art (2009) and Bergeners (2013) have all been nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize. The author was awarded the Literary Critics’ Prize in 2009.

Rights sold to

Bulgaria, Perseus
Croatia, Fidipid
Czech Republic, Havran
Denmark, Batzer
Egypt, Golden Pony
France, Actes Sud
Germany, Matthes & Seitz
Hungary, Typotex
the Netherlands, Uitgeverij Wereldbibliotheek
Russia, Corpus
Serbia, Carobna Knijga
Spain, Lengua de Trapo
Sweden, Lindelöws
UK/US/India, Seagull

Other titles

The Year (2016)
Bergeners (2013)
Against Nature (2011)
Tramp. Or the art of living a wild and poetic life. (2006)

Foreign rights

[email protected]


Nominated for the Nordic Council's Literary Prize 2007, 2010 and 2014
Longlisted for the IMPAC Prize 2012
Winner of the Brage Prize 2011
Winner of the Critics' Prize 2009
Winner of the Gyldendal Prize 2009
Winner of the Bergen Prize 2006

Edited October 04, 2017 by Gyldendal Agency