Agnes Ravatn

Seven Doors

Agnes Ravatn is finally back with a new novel, six years after the success of The Bird Tribunal which has been sold to fourteen countries.

Nina Wisløff is a literature professor at the University of Bergen. Her husband Mads is a busy leader of the health council. Their nice house is about to be torn down because of the new path of Bybanen, and they need a new space to live. Nina and her daughter Ingeborg visit a second house they own but are renting out. Here they get an unpleasant meeting with the tenant, the single mother Mari Nilsen.
Soon after, Mari is reported missing.

The police investigation does not last long, so Nina starts quietly to try to find out what has happened. The discoveries made will prove to have great consequences for her and her family.

Seven Doors is a disturbing novel about dark lies and dangerous curiosity.

Agnes Ravatn

Agnes ravatn bredde lite

Agnes Ravatn (b. 1983) is an author and columnist. In 2015 was she chosen as one of the ten most promising authors under 35 in Norway by the paper Morgenbladet and the Norwegian Festival of Literature. This was the year after her second novel The Bird Tribunal got fabulous reviews. The Bird Tribunal was also made into a successful play, and could be seen at the theater (Det Norske Teater) for nearly two years. The book is now being turned into a film.

Ravatn made her literary début with the novel Week 53 in 2007. Since then she has written three critically acclaimed and award-winning essay collections: Standing Still, 2011, Popular Reading, 2011, and Operation self-discipline, 2014. In these works, Ravatn shows her unique, witty voice and sharp eye for human fallibility.

Other titles

The World is a Scandal (2017)
The Bird Tribunal (2013)

Foreign rights

Northern Stories
Agent: Thomas Mala
[email protected]
+47 46 67 61 55


2016: PEN Translate Award

2013: National Radio (NRK) P2’s listener’s prize for The Bird Tribunal

2013: Book Blogger Award for best Novel (The Bird Tribunal)

2013: The Youth’s Critic’s Prize (The Bird Tribunal)

2011: Språkprisen for excellent use of the Norwegian language in non-fiction for the books Stillstand and Folkelesnad

Edited August 05, 2019 by Northern Stories