Atle Grønn
The chess masters

This is the World history of Chess told through the portraits of 16 of the world champions of Chess from 1886 to our time – a book that can be read by those who know nothing about chess, as well as the coming world champions.

Central in this narrative, written by Norway´s foremost commenters of chess, is also the question about the spirit of chess: what kind of personalities and characters are hidden behind the most masterful chess moves?

The book contains portraits of the following Chess Champions: Wilhelm Steinitz, Emanuel Lasker, José Raúl Capablanca, Aleksandr Alekhin, Max Euwe, Mikhail Botvinnik, Vasilij Smyslov, Mikhail Tal, Tigran Petrosian, Boris Spasskij, Bobby Fisher, Anatolij Karpov, Garri Kasparov, Vladimir Kramnik, Aleksandr Kahlifman, Visnawathan Anand, Ruslan Ponomarjov, Rustam Kasimdzjanov, Vaselin Topalov and Magnus Carlsen.

Atle Grønn

Atle Grønn

Atle Grønn is professor of Russian, an international chess master and has been one of Norway's elite chess-players for over 25 years. He has been a chess expert for Norwegian Broadcasting, an editor of Norwegian Chess magazine and leader of Oslo Chess Club. He writes a regular chess column in the weekly newspaper, Dag og Tid.

Foreign rights

Cappelen Damm Agency
Contact: [email protected]
m: +4741410647

Edited November 22, 2018 by Cappelen Damm Agency