Knut Hamsun
Growth of the Soil

Growth of the Soil is the story of Isak, a worker of the land, with roots in man’s deepest myths surrounding the struggle to cultivate land and make it fertile. The novel moves at the pace of the passing seasons and with the growth of the crops, on which the characters’ lives depend. Hamsun’s themes of individual freedom and the fundamental human need to reconcile man with the natural world, speak even more resonantly now than when the novel was first published.

Knut Hamsun

Knut Hamsun

Knut Hamsun, winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1920, is the most prominent literary figure in Norway since Ibsen. From his experimental novels of the 1890s to the broader narrative sweep of his later works from the interwar period, his contribution to the development of the modern European novel was uniquely important.

150th anniversary (4 August 2009): Gyldendal celebrated the 150th anniversary of Knut Hamsun, the legendary and renowned author translated into more than 40 languages, by publishing a new and extended edition of Knut Hamsun’s Collected Works in 27 volumes. The editor responsible was Lars Frode Larsen (Ph.D., University of Oslo, author of The Young Knut Hamsun ), known as one of the foremost contemporary specialists on the author. He has, together with Professor Tore Guttu, carried out a careful modernizing text revision.

Rights sold to

France, Calmann-Levy
Turkey, Timas
Hungary, Allprint
Spain, Ediciones B
Macedonia, Vib Zenica Publishing House
Russia, AST Licence Limited
Italy, Giulio Einaudi Editore S.p.a.,
Germany, Ullstein Buchverlage
Denamrk, Gyldendal
Albania, Botimet Toena

Other titles

A selection of novels:
Den Gaadefulde 1877
Bjørger 1878
Sult (Hunger) 1890
Mysterier (Mysteries) 1892
Redaktør Lynge 1893
Ny Jord (Shallow Soil) 1893
Pan 1894
Victoria 1898
Sværmere (Dreamers) 1904
Under Høststjærnen (Under the Autumn Star) 1906
Benoni 1908
Rosa 1908
En Vandrer spiller med Sordin (A Wanderer Plays on Muted Strings) 1909
Den siste Glæde (The Last Joy) 1912
Børn av Tiden (Children of the Age) 1913
Seglfoss By (Segelfoss Town) 1915
Markens Grøde (Growth of the Soil) 1917
Konerne ved Vandposten (The Women at the Pump) 1920
Siste Kapitel (The Last Chapter) 1923
Landstrykere (Wayfarers) 1927
August 1930
Men Livet lever (The Road Leads On) 1933
Ringen sluttet (The Ring is Closed) 1936

Siesta 1897
Ringen sluttet (The Ring is Closed) 1903
Stridende Liv 1905

Foreign rights

Gyldendal Agency
P.O. Box 6860 St. Olavs plass
NO-0130 Oslo
Tel: +47 957 81 640
[email protected]


Nobel Prize for Literature in 1920

Edited September 18, 2019 by Gyldendal Agency