Kjartan Fløgstad
Crossing the River Jacob

The wanderer and his shadow, the man of action and the opportunist. In the early 1930´s two well-educated young Germans make a decision that leads them to Oslo´s infamous Gestapo headquarters at Victoria terrasse, to Grense Jacob´s River, and further, across the border. And later across all borders, into a state where they become champions over life and death.

World War II finishes and evolves into the Cold War. Even in the blur of war there always exists a demarcation between good and bad. Does that demarcation still follow the same lines today? Horrified by the atrocities committed by the preceding generation, a young Norwegian tries to do
the right thing by abiding by laws and rules. Will he still end up committing an injustice?

Kjartan Fløgstad

Kjartan Fløgstad
Hans Jørgen Brun

Kjartan Fløgstad (1944) is widely regarded as one of the most important and influential Norwegian writers today.

Since the literary début in 1968, he has written twelve novels, several collections of poetry, essays, mysteries, short stories, travelogues, plays and non-fiction. In 1977 he was awarded The Nordic Council’s Prize for Dalen Portland, his definite international break-through.

Rights sold to

Albania, Morava Publ. House
Bulgaria, Prozoretz Publ. House
Denmark, Tiderne Skifter
France, Ed. Stock

Other titles

Fyr og flamme (Fire and Flames) 1980, U3 1983, Det syvende klima (The Seventh Climate) 1986, Kron og mynt. Eit veddemål (Heads or Tails. A Wager) 1998, Grand Manila 2006, Grense Jakobselv (Crossing the River Jacob) 2009 belong to his most important novels, whereas Sudamericana 2000 represents his excellency in travelogue writing.

Foreign rights

[email protected]


The Nordic Literary Prize 1977
The Critics’ Prize 1980
The Brage Prize 1998
Medalla de Honor Presidencial Internacional Centenario Pablo Neruda 2004

Edited October 04, 2017 by Gyldendal Agency