Tomas Espedal
Tramp (Or the art of living av wild and poetic life)

Walking. Setting out on foot, out onto the open road; a romantic venture, yet filled with tough experiences: sleeping outdoors, losing one’s way, confronting one’s limitations, meeting people, passing through wilderness and town, drifting through the streets of Paris and Istanbul, crossing bridges and borders, walking in foreign lands and unknown regions. The walker has neither protection nor home, he travels without haste or fixed destination, he walks to be nearer to the things he comes across on his travels. He aims to live the wild and poetic life. He follows his own routes, but also takes detours in the footsteps of the famous literary wanderers; Rousseau, Wordsworth, Hölderlin and Rimbaud; he reads the poets and the philosophers in a quest to teach himself the art of what it is to walk.

Tomas Espedal

Tomas Espedal
Jakob Dall

Tomas Espedal (born 1961) made his debut in 1988. A graduate of the University of Bergen, he has published both novels and short prose collections. In 1991 he won an award from the joint Radio P2/Book Club Novelists´ competition for She and I. Founder of the Bergen International Poetry Festival, Espedal’s later works explore the relationship between the novel and other genres such as essays, letters, diaries, autobiographies and travelogue. Espedal’s Tramp (Or the art of living a wild and poetic life) (2006), Against Art (2009) and Bergeners (2013) have all been nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize. The author was awarded the Literary Critics’ Prize in 2009.

Rights sold to

Czech Republic, Havran
Denmark, Batzer
France, Actes Sud
Germany, Matthes & Seitz
Iceland, Bjartur
Italy, Ponte alle Grazie
Poland, Draft
Russia, Corpus
Spain, Siruela
Sweden, Lindelöws
UK/US/India, Seagull

Other titles

The Year (2016)
Bergeners (2013)
Against Nature (2011)
Against Art (2009)

Foreign rights

[email protected]


Nominated for the Nordic Council's Literary Prize 2007, 2010 and 2014
Longlisted for the IMPAC Prize 2012
Winner of the Brage Prize 2011
Winner of the Critics' Prize 2009
Winner of the Gyldendal Prize 2009
Winner of the Bergen Prize 2006

Edited August 20, 2021 by Gyldendal Agency