Herbjørg Wassmo
Dina's Book

Dina’s Book is a widescreen novel from the middle of the 19th century, and the location is the coast line of Northern Norway. A dramatic accident in Dina’s early life follows her for ever and she becomes a woman who challenges, astounds and bewitches her surroundings.

Best book of the 1980’s - Awarded by the Norwegian Booksellers’ Association, 1990.

Rich humour and astonishing evocation of place and sensation. This is a text one can smell and taste.

Daily Telegraph, UK

The greatness of this book is its gut-wrenching portrait of a woman forever in the grip of her past.

Los Angeles Times, USA

An explosion of a book - a unique talent and a wonderful evocative power.

Politiken, DK

A conquering page-turner.

Svenska Dagbladet (SV)

Exciting and entertaining.

Süddeutsche Zeitung, DL

Wassmo's new novel is a masterpiece that lights up the autumn sky like a megastar. She is the Queen of Fiction.


Herbjørg Wassmo

Herbjørg Wassmo
Rolf M. Aagaard

Herbjørg Wassmo has earned her position and popularity in Norway and abroad through her ability as a powerful storyteller with a special care for the exposed and vulnerable characters. She made her début in 1976 with a collection of poetry. Her breakthrough came with the first of three novels about Tora, The House with the Blind Glass Window.

She is translated into 24 languages.

Rights sold to

Denmark (Lindhardt & Ringhof), Estonia (Eesti Raamat)
Finland (Otava)
France (Éditions Gaïa)
Germany (Paul List/Droemer Knaur)
Hungary (Scolar)
Israel (Yediothe Ahronoth)
Japan (Shueisha)
Latvia (Zvaigzne ABC Publishers)
Lithuania (Alma Littera)
The Netherlands (De Geus) Poland (Smak Słowa)
Russia (Olymp/P.P.P./AST)
Serbia (Okean Publishing)
Spain (Circulo de Lectores)Sweden (Norstedts)
UK (Transworld/Black Swan)
USA (Arcade)

Other titles

Other titles in the trilogy:
Dina’s Son (Lykkens sønn)
Karna’s Legacy (Karnas arv)

Foreign rights

Gyldendal Agency
P.O. Box 6860 St. Olavs plass
NO-0130 Oslo
Tel: +47 957 81 640
[email protected]


2011: Ordre National des Arts et Lettres
2010: The Norwegian Publisher’s Association’s Honorable Brage Prize
2007: Order of St Olav, Knight, First Class
2004: Eeva Joenpelto’s International Prize
2001: The Norwegian Readers’ Prize (The Norwegian book club)
1998: The Jean Monnét- Prize (France)
1997: The Amalie Skram Prize
1991: The Gyldendal legacy
1987: The Nordic Council Literature Prize

Edited September 23, 2019 by Gyldendal Agency