Helga Flatland

There Is No Whole

In There is No Whole we follow the village doctor Ragnhild for one day in 2012, when her patients Karin, Bjørn and Hallvard tell her their stories. There is No Whole is the third novel in Helga Flatlands trilogy about the people in a nameless little village in Norway, and the shock that hits them when three of the village’s young men die in Afghanistan and are sent home in coffins. The first book deals with the catastrophe, the second with the consequences and the sorrow. In this third book Flatland describes the peoples need for reconciliation with what happened and with each other, and their struggle to move on in life when the grief slowly diminishes.

Nominated for The Norwegian Bookseller’s Prize 2013.

Helga Flatland

1682 20150326175346000000

Helga Flatland is a copywriter with a bachelor degree in Norwegian language and literature. She currently lives in Oslo. Her critically acclaimed debut novel Stay if You Can. Leave if You must (2010) won numerous awards, among them the Youth's Critic's Award, the Tarjei Vesaas' Award for Best Debut Novel, the Aschehoug Scholarship, and was nominated for the P2 Radio Reader's Award. With her second novel Everyone Wants to Go Home. No One Wants to Go Back (2011) she proved her position as one of Norway's most promising new authors.

Rights sold to

Danish (Batzer & Co)

Other titles

Wing Loading, 2015
There Is No Whole, 2013
Everyone Wants to Go Home. No One Wants to Go Back, 2011
Stay If You Can. Leave If You Must, 2010

Foreign rights

Aschehoug Agency
P.O. Box 363 Sentrum
NO-0102 Oslo
Tel: + 47 22 40 04 49
Fax: +47 22 20 63 95
[email protected]


The Tarjei Vesaas’ First Book Prize 2010
The Young Critics Award 2010
The Aschehoug First Book Scholarship 2010

The P2-radio listeners’ novel prize 2010

Edited December 22, 2017 by Oslo Literary Agency