Per Petterson

Out Stealing Horses

It is the summer of 1948, and Trond is living with his father on a small summer farm near the Swedish border. Trond is 15 years old, and the things he experiences in the course of that summer – death, betrayal and love – are to change his life forever. Over fifty years later (and three years after losing his second wife), he moves out of the city to live in isolation in a small house by a lake. Throughout his whole life he has dreamt of being alone in a place like this, but one night his neighbour appears, and Trond’s past finally catches up with him. The events of that summer in 1948 show just how enigmatic even those closest to us can turn out be – and Trond asks himself: Are we the main characters in our own lives?

Per Petterson

1050 20150326174140000000
Photo: Peter Peitsch

Per Petterson worked for several years as an unskilled labourer, a bookseller, a writer and a translator until he made his literary debut in 1987 with the short story collection Aske i munnen, sand i skoa, which was widely acclaimed by critics. He made his literary breakthrough in 2003 with the prize-winning novel Ut og stjæle hester. The novel received the Book Sellers' Prize and The Literary Critics’ Prize the same year, and with this novel Per Petterson reached out to thousands of new readers.

Rights sold to

Foreign rights to Out Stealing Horses are sold to more than 50 languages

Other titles

I kjølvannet, novel 2000.
Til Sibir, novel 1996.
Det er greit for meg, novel 1992.
Ekkoland, novel 1989.
Aske i munnen, sand i skoa, short stories 1987.

Foreign rights

Oslo Literary Agency
Henrik Francke
Literary Agent, Literary fiction /
Forlaget Oktober
[email protected]
+47 913 53 922


2012 The Norwegian Booksellers' Award
2012 The Gyldendal Prize
2009 The Nordic Council's Literary Prize
2008 The Brage Prize
2008 The Norwegian Literary Critics' Prize
2007 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award
2007 Prix des Lecteurs de littérature européenne
2006 Independent Foreign Fiction Prize
2006 Le Prix Millepages
2006 Le Prix Littéraire Européen Madeleine Zepter

Edited December 21, 2017 by Oslo Literary Agency