Anne Holt
What Never Happens

They have just become parents, but the outside world won’t spare Superintendent Yngvar Stubø and profiler Inger Johanne Vik. A series of shocking murders all have symbolic dismembering or desecration of the corpses in common, reminding Inger Johanne of a lecture on Proportional Retribution at the FBI Academy. Are the Norwegian Police facing a biblical avenger or a simple copycat?

The internationally bestselling What Never Happens, the second installment in the Inger Johanne Vik series, has sold more than 500 000 copies.

A follow-up to writer Holt’s Punishment, [What Never Happens] shows she really knows her stuff.

Daily Sport, UK

Set in Oslo, this excellent thriller begins with the discovery of the body of a popular talk show host with her tongue removed and split in two before matters heat up with the crucifixion of a right-wing leader. Holt keeps the plot and dialogue tight.

Evening Herald, UK

Anne Holt

Anne Holt

Anne Holt (b. 1958) is one of Scandinavia’s most successful crime writers with 7 million copies sold around the world. Holt is a former Minister of Justice, Police Attorney, lawyer running her own firm, journalist, and TV news editor and anchor. Her novels are intelligent, accessible and suspenseful, with engaging and intriguing protagonists. Tight-knit crime plots are paired with a focus on relational drama. Anne Holt is the author of two extremely successful crime series: the Inger Johanne Vik series (five installments) and the Hanne Wilhelmsen series (nine installments to date).

Rights sold to

Albania, IDC
Denmark, Gyldendal
Estonia, Ersen
Finland, Gummerus
France, Plon
Germany, Piper
Greece, Metaixmio
Iceland, Salka
Italy, Einaudi
Latvia, Kontinents
Lithuania, Baltos Lankos
Norway, Vigmostad & Bjørke
Poland, Prószynski
Portugal, Pergaminho
Romania, Trei
Russia, Inostranka
Spain, Roca (World Spanish)
Sweden, Piratförlaget
UK, Corvus

Film rights
Sweden, Miso

Other titles

In Dust and Ashes
Beyond The Truth
No Echo
Dead Joker
The Lion’s Mouth
Death of the Demon
Blessed Are Those Who Thirst
Blind Goddess
Sudden Death
What Dark Clouds Hide
Fear Not
Madam President
What Is Mine
May-Britt, March-Britt and the Peachy Pug
May-Britt & March-Britt

Foreign rights

Salomonsson Agency
Götgatan 27, 116 21 Stockholm, Sweden
[email protected]
+46 8 22 32 11


The Great Calibre Award of Honor, Poland, 2012
The Cappelen Prize, Norway, 2001
The Norwegian Booksellers’ Prize, Norway, 1995
The Riverton Prize (Best Norwegian Crime Novel of the Year), Norway, 1994

Edited October 06, 2017 by Salomonsson Agency