Anne Holt
Madam President

In Anne Holt’s third novel featuring Superintendent Yngvar Stubø and profiler Inger Johanne Vik, history’s first female American president is kidnapped during a state visit in Norway. Together with the FBI, the Norwegian police are up against an enemy far more powerful than they can imagine: a man using his global network of pawns to plot the biggest terror attack on American soil since 9/11. Inger Johanne is drawn into the epicenter of the conflict when she crosses paths with Madam President, and the secrets both women thought was buried and forgotten forever suddenly come back to haunt them.

Madam President is the third installment in the Inger Johanne Vik series.

It takes a certain literary courage to write a novel in which the American president is kidnapped in Oslo on [the National Holiday] May 17th. Anne Holt has proven to have this courage, and the result is very successful.

NRK, Norway

It’s imaginative, cleverly crafted and at times quite suspenseful … Anne Holt has a talent for constructing a captivating plot, and she writes in a committed manner that fascinates.

Fredriksstad Blad, Norway

Anne Holt

Anne Holt

Anne Holt (b. 1958) is one of Scandinavia’s most successful crime writers with 7 million copies sold around the world. Holt is a former Minister of Justice, Police Attorney, lawyer running her own firm, journalist, and TV news editor and anchor. Her novels are intelligent, accessible and suspenseful, with engaging and intriguing protagonists. Tight-knit crime plots are paired with a focus on relational drama. Anne Holt is the author of two extremely successful crime series: the Inger Johanne Vik series (five installments) and the Hanne Wilhelmsen series (nine installments to date).

Rights sold to

Bulgaria, Emas
Denmark, Gyldendal
Finland, Gummerus
France, Plon
Germany, Piper
Greece, Metaixmio
Iceland, Salka
Italy, Einaudi
Lithuania, Baltos Lankos
Norway, Vigmostad & Bjørke
Poland, Prószynski
Portugal, Pergaminho
Romania, Trei
Spain, Roca (World Spanish)
Sweden, Piratförlaget
UK, Corvus

Film rights
Sweden, Miso

Other titles

In Dust and Ashes
Beyond The Truth
No Echo
Dead Joker
The Lion’s Mouth
Death of the Demon
Blessed Are Those Who Thirst
Blind Goddess
Sudden Death
What Dark Clouds Hide
Fear Not
What Never Happens
What Is Mine
May-Britt, March-Britt and the Peachy Pug
May-Britt & March-Britt

Foreign rights

Salomonsson Agency
Götgatan 27, 116 21 Stockholm, Sweden
[email protected]
+46 8 22 32 11


The Great Calibre Award of Honor, Poland, 2012
The Cappelen Prize, Norway, 2001
The Norwegian Booksellers’ Prize, Norway, 1995
The Riverton Prize (Best Norwegian Crime Novel of the Year), Norway, 1994

Edited October 06, 2017 by Salomonsson Agency